it feels like christmas!

Tonight I finally crossed off something that had been on my to-do list for a long time: go to the library.  There is a public library really close to my apartment, so I walked down to it and signed up for a brand new library card.  Before I go any further, please just look at how CUTE my new card is:

It’s so adorable I literally cannot get over it!  My old card from the library in Pleasanton was a dinky little piece of white paper, and was so ridiculously boring I repeatedly lost it on purpose, always hoping that the new one given to me would have just a teensy bit more character.  Not only is this new card everything that I had ever wanted, but it comes with a separate keychain card!!!  Nothing short of genius.

 

So I walked into the library, armed with my fabulous new card, and began immediately wandering the aisles.  Books are for me what chicken noodle soup is for sick people: pure, unadulterated COMFORT.  Opening a book is like walking into an open embrace, one that smells of dust and memories and whose arms will hold you for as long as you want them to.  Starting a new book is like beginning a relationship: it hooks you, leaving you helpless to say no; it makes you laugh and blush and think; it pulls at your heart and makes you cry; it ends and you crave crave crave more.  I love all books, whether they are trashy romance novels that are embarrassingly addicting or Pulitzer Prize winners that you kind of can’t figure out or bestsellers that you only pick up because it looks trendy when you page through them on the metro.  I do not discriminate– a book is a book, and it will take you on an adventure if you let it, regardless of genre/length/hardcover/new/used/author.  The first book I ever read was Roald Dahl’s James and the Giant Peach, and parents– if you want your kids to be readers for life, I swear that this is the book to put in their hands.  Even as my life grew increasingly busy as I got older, I tried to always make time to read.  Now that I am only (only?! HA!) working, I plan on reading as many books as I can get my hands on, and consider myself very lucky to have such an accessible library.

 

Tonight, I walked out of the library with 5 books and one DVD.  Because I’m so excited about each of my books (and my one movie), I’ll write briefly about each one and why it in particular called to me from the crammed shelves.

 

The Facts Behind the Helsinki Roccamatios, Yann Martel

This little book is sexy.  I grabbed it because Yann Martel also wrote Life of Pi, one of my and BFF Leslie’s favorite books.  (If you haven’t read it, READ IT.  It will blow your mind, promise.)  This is a collection of short stories that he wrote early in his career, and while I usually don’t like short story books, I will make an exception for Mr. Yann Martel.  Besides, a short story is like a one night stand– all the fun and none of the drama.  Right?  The inside flap says that the title story is about a very young man dying of AIDS, so I’m actually going to guess that there will be just as much drama in these little stories as in any full-length single story.

 

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, Jane Austen and Seth Grahame Smith

Okay, so I know this book doesn’t look like it would be worth the time that it takes to read it.  But I’ve been seeing it all over bookstores recently (I think he has some other ones out now too?), and while I would never pay for a book with the word zombie in the title, it seemed like a fun read if I could get it for free.  And in all seriousness here, I read Jane Eyre once in high school and it was TERRIBLE.  So if I can mostly read Pride & Prejudice but actually be entertained as opposed to tortured, then I’d say it’s a win-win.

 

The Blind Side, Michael Lewis

I am really excited about this book.  I have heard nothing but great things about the movie– which I haven’t actually seen yet– and it just seems like such an inspiring story that I couldn’t NOT grab it.  I have found that 95% of the times, a book is better than its film counterpart, so I am assuming that I will enjoy the book more than I would enjoy the movie.  I’m sure that when I’ve finished the book I’ll check out the movie, but for now, I am perfectly happy to curl up with a true story of love and dreams coming true.

 

About a Boy, Nick Hornby

Do I even have to give an explanation for this book?  It SMILES at you.  I mean, come on.  Who can resist a book that sits on the shelf and smiles?  The only thing that would make this cover more appealing is if it smiled at you and then winked.  But that’s asking a lot.  About a Boy is also a movie starring Hugh Grant, who is hot and charming and has a British accent to die for, so the smiling cover plus the fact that I can visualize Hugh Grant as the main character made this book a no-brainer.

 

Boom!, Tom Brokaw

I grabbed this monster (633 pages!) because 1. it’s silver-metallic and has color photos of famous people staring at me and 2. because I legitimately WORSHIP the 60s.  If I could be reborn at any point in time, I would chose the 1960s.  I took a class in college fall semester of my 4th year called History of Post-WWII America, and I loved it.  Think of the craziest things in the universe that could ever possibly happen, and 75% of them happened between 1960 and 2001.  (The other 25% happened from 1936 to 1946.)  The ubiquitous feeling of pure LIFE that characterized the 1960s appeals deeply to my desire to experience everything the world has to offer– and worry about the consequences later.  So while this book may be intimidating or boring to some people, I cannot wait to dig my fingernails into the pages and rip them apart looking for every last anecdote about the craziest decade in America.

 

Butch Cassidy & the Sundance Kid

 

Okay, I literally have no idea what this movie is about.  NO IDEA.  All I know is that Paul Newman started Newmans’ Own salad dressing, which makes my all-time favorite Creamy Balsamic (pure heaven!).  When I saw Butch Cassidy & the Sundance Kid on the shelf I thought immediately of the bottle of Creamy Balsamic sitting in my fridge and decided to honor it by watching one of Paul Newman’s most famous movies.  I will let you know my thoughts on the actual film later, but seriously go buy Newmans’ Own dressings because they are delicious.

 

That concludes my raid at the local library.  After being checked out by one of those middle age men so pathetic they’re almost endearing (I could see the remnants of the sunscreen he had failed to rub in on his earlobes– reminder: he works in a library.  Indoors.  No sun.), I stuffed my new treasures into my ecofriendly and reusable grocery bag and headed home.  I cannot wait to finish this post so I can dive into bed and start one of my new books.  With all the possibilities stacked on my nightstand now, I feel like a little kid at Christmas* who can’t decide which toy to play with first.  I’ll write reviews of the books/movie as I finish them (and if they’re worthy of a review), but for now, consider me buried under a pile of crumpled wrapping paper, rapidly devouring my newest as-good-as-Christmas presents.

 

**For the most outrageous kid at Christmas, watch this video.  You will not regret it.

One Response

  1. […] short story collection titled The Facts Behind the Helsinki Roccamatios– for more info, READ THIS) and immersed myself in the touchingly sad story.  Every once in a while I would sneak glances […]

Leave a Reply

