giving thanks

Happy (early) Thanksgiving!! 

Tonight I’m headed off to New York City.  I have chosen the infamous Megabus as my method of transportation, mainly for the dirt cheap $54 round trip fare, but also because it’s a double decker bus (!!) with free internet (!!).  I may be sending live updates about my Megabus journey using their free internet, so brace yourselves.  

Google Maps tells me that it is a 227 mile, 4hr 40min haul to the Big Apple, which seems bad enough.  Combine this with the fact that I’m leaving at 6:30pm on the busiest day of travel in the US from a city which experiences a mass exodus of commuters everyday anyways….and I might be lucky if I make it to NYC before 1 am.  Again, be ready for those live updates. 

I’m staying with BFF Caitlin in her glam Upper East Side apartment, and we’ll be eating dinner tomorrow night at one of her new friends’ glam Midtown apartments.  We’ve been signed up to bring sweet potatoes and rolls, so if you have any wild and exciting sweet potato recipes, feel free to share.  

Other things I plan to do on my first official vacation:

  • Take a crazy cab ride—hopefully escape with my life.
  • Hang out with Caitlin’s crazy French roommate—I’m thinking Tibo but with WAY less English.  Is that possible?
  • Black Friday shopping!!!  I plan on returning to DC with a totally chic, designer, straight-off-the-runway wardrobe and no money.
  • Participate in the Macy’s Day Parade!  And by participate, I mean watch on TV in Caitlin’s apartment.   

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday of the year.  In the past, I’ve only looked forward to it because it meant getting away from an empty Charlottesville and painful swim practices, but now that I am retired, I can truly appreciate the spirit of giving thanks for things we are lucky to have and people we are privileged to know.  I enjoy spending time with people without the expectations and letdowns of gift giving, which, while often gratifying, can take away from the simple pleasure of being with family.  While I am not making it all the way home to my family this year, I will be with close friends in an exciting place.  

What are your plans for Thanksgiving?  What is your favorite part of the holiday?   

One Response

  1. I made us a list of things to do. It is going to be so fun and structured!

Leave a Reply

