fw: fw: fw: fw: fw: fw:

I have a very serious problem at work.  I don’t know how to solve it, but it’s starting to affect my job in a rather alarming way.  I’m afraid to check my email; I’m afraid to leave my cube; I’m afraid to talk to my coworkers for fear the problem will only get worse.  I think I need serious help in fixing this situation.

I have become the victim of forwarded email chains.

And it is torturous.

There is one lady in my office that sends me email chains relentlessly.  I can’t get through the day without receiving at least four.  The one awaiting me this morning has the enthralling subject of “my room of 8” and requires the recipient to forward the email on to 8 women who have touched their lives or else they will be stricken with back luck FOREVERRRRR.  ARGHHH.

Where do such email chains come from??  Is there a bratty, technology-savvy 20 year old geek who sits in his sci-fi-poster plastered room and cackles as he composes email chains designed to annoy 22 year old government employees via superstitious middle aged women? 

are you responsible?!

or maybe you?!

 I am obviously over exaggerating the effect of these dumb chains on my work life, but they still do pose a problem.  What is the correct etiquette on how to politely ask Mrs. Email-Chain-Forwarder to leave me off her go-to list of recipients?  I doubt that Ms. Manners has ever written a column on this, unfortunately, but maybe she will hear my cry for help and send me some advice.  Goodness knows I need it before the weight of all my bad luck comes down on me.

One Response

  1. Hi
    I have the same problem.
    I’m planning to be really brave and say ‘Thank you very much for thinking of me, but I don’t really like these chain letters and I would feel about forwarding them on because my friends mostly don’t like them either. So please leave me off the list.’
    Oddly hardly to say though, isn’t it?
    Good luck.

Leave a Reply

