my very own veggie burger creation

Today I had a not-so-good day at work, and when I got home, I felt like doing something to take my mind off everything that had happened earlier.  The first thought I had was to cook something yummy for dinner, because that would 1. keep me focused on the food,  2. fill me up so I would stop being crabby, and 3. cheer me up via the knowledge that I, an adult woman, made a good meal all on my own.

I felt like a veggie burger, but the only recipe I could fine on my favorite cooking website/blog The Kitchn used beets as the main ingredient, and I despise beets.  So, feeling resourceful, I decided to make my VERY OWN veggie burger.

TA-DA!!!

To get to this scrumptious end result, I used this made-up recipe:

Jen’s Pantry-Cleaning Veggie Burger

1 can black beans

1/2 can corn

1/2 cup dry quinoa (cooked according to package directions)

1/2 cup finely diced red onion

cumin

coriader

paprika

red pepper

garlic

1 egg

1 handful breadcrumbs

Mix all the ingredients together in a medium mixing bowl, adding more or less breadcrumbs as necessary.  (I was an idiot and forgot to drain my beans, so I added a LOT of breadcrumbs.)  Add the spices according to your taste– I did a lot of cumin and garlic, and roughly 1/2 teaspoon for everything else.  (The more spices the better!!)  When the “dough” starts sticking together, grab about 1/2 cup and mold it into a “patty” with your hands.  Heat up a frying pan with a little olive oil, and drop the patty in.  Get a good sear on both sides (the crunch adds to the texture!), and then stick it into a 350 degree oven for about 20 minutes.  (I cooked it for about 10 in the oven, and it came out a little undercooked.)  Enjoy on a soft whole wheat bun, perhaps with some caramelized red onions and creamy balsamic salad dressing?

I loved loved LOVED my made-up recipe.  It was so easy, and even better, could be adapted to go with any flavor or weird ingredient you have in your pantry.  The next time I make these, I’m going to add some chopped bell pepper, smoked paprika, and a little greek yogurt.  I’ll top it with some provolone and maybe Thousand Island dressing?  The black beans, quinoa, and egg/breadcrumb glue gives you an essentially a blank slate for anything you could ever want to try.  Like Greek food?  Add cucumbers, kalamata olives, sun-dried tomatoes; top it with feta and avocado slices and a drizzle of balsamic vinegar– you’ve go it made.  (Actually…I might go try that right now.)  Asian?  Add shredded carrots, maybe some sliced cabbage, a dash of soy sauce; top with bean sprouts and hoisin or sriracha and the world will love you.  Seriously, guys, this recipe is foolproof AND delicious– not to mention it has put me back into a wonderful mood.  What more could you ask for?

 

No, really, what more could you ask for besides this burger recipe??

A man who will eat them.

 

2 Responses

  1. Congratulations on your culinary creativity! Your description makes me want to eat one of those veggie thingies right now. It would be a vegetarian continuation of the typical wifeless repast that I had tonight: three roasted red potatoes left over from two nights ago, a cup (+/-) of unsalted dry-roasted peanuts, a handful of cinnamon-flavored Oatmeal Squares, two low-fat Ritz crackers, and a half cup (+/+) Nestle’s semi-sweet chocolate morsels. In case you hadn’t figured it out already, your mom is at some City meeting again tonight.

  2. […] inspiration for this one from falafels, and think it may actually be even more delicious than my last recipe.  I beg you to try it, because it is seriously that […]

Leave a Reply

