someone is going to steal this idea and make 27 billion dollars

Bloggies, I have done it again!!

I have created ANOTHER astonishing veggie burger recipe.

I drew inspiration for this one from falafels, and think it may actually be even more delicious than my last recipe.  I beg you to try it, because it is seriously that good.

Jen’s Greek-ish Style Veggie Burger

1 can chickpeas

4 scallions, chopped

1 egg

2-3 tablespoons flour

red onion, chopped

1 clove garlic

cumin

oregano

pita bread

Mix everything but the pita bread (duh.) together in a food processor or blender, and pulse until most of the chickpeas are chopped up.  (I actually like a courser patty, so I only pulsed 2 or 3 times.)  Depending on how moist the “batter” is, you may need to add more flour, but you’ll just have to eyeball it.  Mold the batter into about 4 patties (that’s how many I got out of this recipe) and drop one into a heated pan with some olive oil.  Cook for about 5 minutes on one side, until it’s crispy, and then flip it for another 2.  Slide it into a pita pocket, add whatever toppings* your heart desires, and ta-da!!  A wonderful meal.

*Toppings:

Tahini Sauce– Equal parts plain yogurt and tahini paste, a tablespoon of lemon juice, and some oregano; mix and spread on the pita.  You’ll want to lick the bowl it’s so yummy.

Sun dried tomatoes, cucumbers, olives, feta, sprouts, etc.

Sometimes there’s nothing like a delicious, healthy, homemade meal to make you really feel good about yourself.

I was so inspired by my success in creating 2 for 2 good veggie burger recipes that I let my mind completely wander.  Couldn’t I start a restaurant that just served veggie burgers??  There are so many options I could do–portabello mushroom, beets, lentils, bulgar, Asian style, flaxseed, cashews–that are all so exciting and unique!  It could be like a fast-food-ish place: order at a counter and you can either take it to go or sit down with it.  How fun would that be?!  And I’m sure there’s a niche for a solely veggie burger place out there– healthier than a real burger, but tasting just as interesting!  And since they’re easy to make, they would be pretty cheap, making it a great place for business people to eat lunch or starving college students to get some protein.  I need to look into this thought much more.  Too bad my business skills are non-existent.

Anyways, I hope you enjoy my recipe.  If you do try it, I would love some feedback!  Have a great rest of the weekend, and happy Oscar season!

 

Should I open a veggie burger restaurant?


There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

