skydiving

As is evident by the title of this post, I went skydiving this weekend!  Yay! 

I think skydiving is one of those things that people either want to do or don’t– there’s no room for halfheartedness when you’re plunging out of an airplane.  I’ve been wanting to go ever since high school, and finally saw a Living Social deal I couldn’t resist and booked a jump.  After getting cancelled on twice (with extremely poor customer service–I would not recommend Sportations to anyone), Michelle and I were hoping the third time would truly be the charm.  Luckily, we ran into no issues and our jump went off without a hitch.

michelle getting strapped in

This particular place only offered video, no pictures, and were charging a pretty fee of 90-something dollars.  Michelle and I, having only paid $100 for the entire jump, were reluctant to essentially double that for just a video, so we sadly have no evidence of the physical jump.

 

the teeny plane

Skydiving is tough to explain.  I think the best way to do it is to simply say that it’s exactly like what you would expect it to be.  When I finished, I didn’t feel like my world had changed at all; it was certainly exhilarating, but not earth-shattering in its unexpectedness.  The views were stunning, and I had a full 5 minutes to absorb them on my gentle ride down once the parachute had opened.
 

me & michelle

As we rode up in the teeny plane (up to 9,000 feet!), I kept thinking how lucky I was to be crossing this off my bucket list.  When I put on my hideous goggles and started scooting toward the door of the plane, I wasn’t nervous, merely curious about what was coming.  When we got to the door of the plane, I had a number of things that I had been instructed to do, but the wind basically sucked me out before I could do any of them.  My guy took me into an unexpected somersault and we were free falling!!  I think I was screaming, but the one thing I was really thinking about was my earrings!  I had in my real pearl earrings from my mom, and I kept thinking my earring backs were going to come flying off and I would be in BIG trouble for losing my expensive pearls.  I mean, of all things to be worrying about–I guess the mind just has an instinct to think about something trivial and harmless when it senses that danger is near.  Anyways, my earrings stayed safe, and except for my poorly-selected boat shoes coming untied and a halo of tangled hair, I landed exactly the same as when I went up. 

I loved my jump–if it wasn’t so expensive, I would book another one right now. 

P.S.  Someone at work found this comic for me before my first scheduled jump and I just thought it was so funny…

…And then shoved a handful of lifesaver candies at me before I left.  They came pretty handy when we landed because our mouths had gotten pretty dry, and sucking on them helped get our saliva going until we could grab some water.  I snapped a picture for proof to show the coworker–he was thrilled!!

4 Responses

  1. […] guns is, without a doubt, one of the most exhilarating things I’ve ever done.  (See also skydiving.)  I honestly had a great time, and was so glad I took the plunge and just went for it.  That […]

  2. Wow, Jen, that is so cool! I had no idea you wanted to do that. I have also wanted to skydive, but have not yet made it. Were you doing a tandem jump, with the guy holding you? (If so, I hope he was cute.) I thought people could jump independently.

    Love,
    Auntie Gail

    • Hi Auntie Gail!! Yes, I went tandem–I think you have to have a “Jumper’s License” or something before you can jump alone. It was pretty awkward in the plane, I was basically sitting my my guys lap! But he was nice and I’m sure had to jump with worse people in his career, so it was okay. I made the wise decision to NOT tell my parents until after I’d landed–and my mom still freaked out! Completely understandable, but still funny. I’m sure there are some skydiving places up in Eureka–have you looked into it??

  3. Hi Jen
    No skydiving here in Humboldt County. For a brief period of time someone was offering tandem parasailing–not really sailing, but those things that are like parachutes but stay in the air like hang gliders. I really was going to do that, but they disappeared.

    I figured you didn’t say anything to your mom prior to going! I wonder what was the riskiest (sp?) thing she ever did–did you ask her?

Leave a Reply

