beta bridge wednesday

I have a wonderful Wednesday treat for the four five of you who read this!

I found the most surprising and whimsical of blogs today via Twitter, and it has really changed my day for the better.  Beta Bridge (almost) Daily is beautifully photographed daily-ish blog that documents the ever changing Beta Bridge at UVa.  I have no clue how the “tradition” got started, but there’s this little bridge at the end of a row of fraternity houses that is constantly being painted–with absolutely everything.  Birthdays, new clubs, political messages, marriage proposals, athletic victories, restaurant recommendations–all are reasonable things to paint on Beta Bridge.  It’s really an amazing thing: we used to drive by the bridge on the way to morning practice (5:45) and see one thing on there, and then come home from breakfast (8:15) and see a completely new thing.  And the craziest part is that I only ever saw someone painting the bridge, like, two times!  It’s as if there are little bridge-painting-elves that zoom out from behind the posts and paint at super speed and lose their painting powers if any human lays eyes on them. 

look how thick the paint is!

Anyways, I personally have painted Beta Bridge twice in my life: once during my very first week at UVa (a Virginia Women’s Swimming tradition); and again when we won ACC’s in 2008. 

me & jenna

The boys came by with shaving cream, ketchup, mustard, soap, and dog food–it was an ambush!  (But also a tradition.)

amanda, me, jenna

You can see the pink bridge in the background, I think our message lasted about…4 hours.

we were freezing!

Unfortunately, the blogger behind Beta Bridge (Almost) Daily didn’t start his documentation until 2009, so he missed both of the masterpeices I contributed to.  But, you can still find the artwork left by first year classes of swimmer ladies behind me:

class of 2013
Class of 2014

Class of 2015

Some great memories there, friends.  Dare I say—I miss swimming???

Anyways, get yourself over to the Beta Bridge blog.  It’s like a daily window into the minds of random UVa students– I know that I, for one, miss that mentality.

One last gem:

an eightieth birthday! beautiful

2 Responses

  1. What a cool tradition! I wish P-town had something like that. I knew you’d say you missed swimming one day, Jen! ❤

  2. Great post Jen! Thank you for the kind words, I’m glad my site is getting appreciated.

Leave a Reply

