five things

I’m not sure if it’s the crazy weather DC has been having (rain in the morning, oppressive humidity at night), or the flu-type sickness that I contracted on Tuesday, but this week has been dragging by.  I feel like I’m slogging through the workday only to go home, swaddle myself in any and all available blankets, and blubber over X-Factor.  Also, thanks to the heavy doses of Nyquil I’ve been taking each night, I’ve had some crazy dreams–ones so vivid that when I wake up, it takes 5 minutes before I can sort through what actually happened and what didn’t.  So to get me out of the slump I’ve been in all week, I gathered a few things that I am loving right now.

colleen, les, madison, me

 {Homecomings was this past weekend at UVa–I had been craving some serious Lawn time, and I got it.  Guys, UVa is the best place in the universe, and undoubtedly food for my soul.}

{This is my favorite photograph EVER.  Ever ever.  I stumbled upon it when I got a Groupon for Jen Bekman’s 20×200, the hands-down best website for affordable art by up-and-coming artists.  Unfortunately, I had discovered the site too late to get this print (sold out, tear) but that doesn’t mean I can’t oogle it practically every morning.}

{This tree right outside my window.  I think Fall is what I love most about the east coast.}

{I think this living room is absolute perfection.  Using a file cabinet as an end table?!  Brilliant.}

 

{I finished this book on Monday and found it incredibly inspiring.  I was worried that it might be a slow read, since it’s biographical, but it turned out to be quite a page turner.  I felt particularly connected to the story because of Louis Zamperini’s athletic background; the author suggests throughout the book that serious athletes have a stronger will to live than most other people, which I thought was an interesting theory.  A highly recommended read.}

 

 

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

